Home > Exchange 2010 > Cannot create new mailbox database: Access is denied Exchange 2010

Cannot create new mailbox database: Access is denied Exchange 2010

couple of days ago when I tried to create a new mailbox database in Exchange 2010 SP2 it threw a weird error message:

Active Directory operation failed on <DC>. This error is not retriable. Additional information:
Access is denied.
Active directory response: 00000005: SecErr: DSID-031521D0, problem 4003 (INSUFF_ACCESS_RIGHTS), data 0
+ CategoryInfo : NotSpecified: (0:Int32) [New-MailboxDatabase], ADOperationException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : 153D18FB,Microsoft.Exchange.Management.SystemConfigurationTasks.NewMailboxDatabase

The user I was using for this database creation had the sufficient rights and the permissions for Exchange Trusted Subsystem group was also fine on containers between Microsoft Exchange and database (as specified in this post) so instead of figuring out the point where I had the permission problem I simply ran the domain preparation (setup.com /preparedomain) which fixed the problem for me.

I thought it might help some of you as well!

Categories: Exchange 2010
  1. Chris Wolfley
    April 17, 2013 at 6:29 pm

    Hey.. I know this is an old thread, but I just have to stop and say thanks. I searched all over the web and everything was pointing to the inheritable permissions boxes, which was already set. This is what my issue turned out to be also.

    Thank you again for posting this

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

